top of page
Writer's pictureRalziTech

Porting OneShot to HTML5

Hello all! I've recently had this question in my mind - "Is it possible to port OneShot to HTML5?" Well, I don't like to use the word "impossible", but I like to use the word "improbable". Allow me to explain:


If you don't know what OneShot is, it's a game developed by Nightmargin, where you play as Niko, the main character, to save the world and send Niko home. I've had this question about porting OneShot to HTML5 for a while, and it seems somewhat improbable for two reasons:


  • Next to no modding/open-source material for the game - OneShot's asset pack is available to the user in it's install location, including things like sprites, backgrounds, audio files and the main executable, which isn't protected whatsoever, which in itself could provide somewhat of a potential for HTML5, but there is next to no open-source material for the game outside of custom asset packs.

  • No official support from Nightmargin - Nightmargin, or better yet DANGEN or FutureCat, hasn't officially released OneShot on HTML5, which makes my job an awful lot harder as there are now two paths I can take, these being:

    • Recreate the entire game from the ground up

    • Somehow run a Windows container within HTML5 (if that's even a thing)


It is still possible that OneShot can be ported to HTML5, but it's somewhat impractical and improbable as it would take a stupidly long time to do so. Like I said above, OneShot has no open-source material outside of asset packs, and it runs on a proprietary game engine, making it harder to port as there may be minimal documentation on it. Nonetheless, if someone is willing to port OneShot to HTML5, send me an email at ralzitech@outlook.com.


Ralzi out!

Tags:

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Old Dells CAN be powerful!

Hello all! Before I start, let me just start by saying welcome! This is where I'm basically gonna post about technology and coding...

Comments


bottom of page